About Arcon

The Architects Registration Council of Nigeria (ARCON) was established by Decree No. 10 0f 1969 further amended by Decree No. 43 of 1990. As a result of the enthronement of democracy in our political life that led to the review of all existing laws, the law setting up the Council was also reviewed to fall in line with the new dispensation. In line with this thinking, the  law was now renamed  Architects (Registration, Etc) Act Cap A19 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria 2004.

Ip so facto, the Council derives the power to power to register and control the practice of Architecture in Nigeria.

Subject to the provisions of the Act, a person shall not prepare or take full responsibility for the erection or commissioning of architectural building plans or practise or carry on business other than that having relevance to ship construction, or to landscape golf-links under any name, style or title containing the word “architect” unless he is a Nigerian citizen and registered with the Council.

The inaugural ceremony of the first Council was performed by the Federal Commissioner for Works and Housing, Mr. Femi Okunnu on the 19th of September, 1969 in Lagos. The first President was Arc. Oluwole Olumuyiwa and the Acting Registrar Arc. Kola Bankole. In effect the first registration was done on the same day.

The Council maintains a register of architects and architectural firms respectively in line with the enabling Act. In the case of the Register of Architects three categories of architects viz: Full, Provisional Stage 1 and 2.

Fully registered Architects are those who can practise as principals or consultants to clients and can submit building plans for planning and bye-laws approval.

Provisional registered Architects Stage 2 are entitled to use the title Architect but can only practise under the supervision of a full registered Architect and shall not act as principal or consultant in any private organisation.

The B. Sc. Architecture degree holder or its equivalent are registered under the Provisional Stage 1.

Thereafter the composition of the Council has seen several changes. Today representatives of all the States and the Federal Capital Territory, The Nigerian Institute of Architects, Accredited Schools of Architecture and the supervisory Ministry are represented.

The executive members of the Council comprise the President, Vice President, Treasurer and Registrar.

The committees of the Council are: Registration, Education, Practice, and Finance. Other standing committees of the Council are: Investigating Panel and Colloquium.